The William Hill Sports Book of the Year longlist was announced on 21 September 2017.

Judy Murray and Mike Brearley in Contention for the World’s Oldest Sports Book Prize

Coach and mother to tennis stars, Andy and Jamie, Judy Murray will be hoping to take game, set, and match as she jostles with former England cricket captain and psychoanalyst, Mike Brearley on the 2017 William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award longlist, announced today (Thursday 21 September 2017). The ‘Bookie Prize’ – now in its 29th year – is sports-writing’s most valuable and prestigious prize.

Read the full press release announcement


The longlist in full (alphabetically by author’s surname): 

  1. The Greatest Comeback: From Genocide to Football Glory by David Bolchover (Biteback Publishing)
  2. On Form by Mark Brearley (Little, Brown)
  3. When Lions Roared: The Lions, the All Blacks & the Legendary Tour of 1971 by Tom English and Peter Burns (Polaris Publishing)
  4. Four Mums in a Boat by Helen Butters, Niki Doeg, Frances Davies and Janette Benaddi (HQ, HarperCollins)
  5. Ali: A Life by Jonathan Eig (Simon & Schuster)
  6. Gambling for Life by Harry Findlay (Trinity Mirror Sport Media)
  7. Quiet Genius: Bob Paisley, British Football’s Greatest Manager by Ian Herbert (Bloomsbury Sport, Bloomsbury)
  8. Swell: A Waterbiography by Jenny Landreth (Bloomsbury Sport, Bloomsbury)
  9. Redemption: From Iron Bars to Iron Man by John McAvoy and Mark Turley (Pitch Publishing)
  10. Tom Simpson: Bird on the Wire by Andy McGrath (Rapha Editions)
  11. Centaur by Declan Murphy and Ami Rao (Doubleday, Transworld)
  12. Knowing the Score: My Family and Our Tennis Story by Judy Murray (Chatto & Windus, Penguin Random House)
  13. Connie: The Marvellous Life of Learie Constantine by Harry Pearson (Little, Brown)
  14. Feeling is the Thing that Happens in 1000th of a Second: A Season of Cricket Photographer Patrick Eager by Christian Ryan (riverrun, Quercus Books)
  15. The Talent Lab: The secrets of creating and sustaining success by Owen Slot (Ebury Press, Penguin Random House)
  16. Breaking Ground: Art, Archaeology and Mythology edited by Neville Gabie, Alan Ward and Jason Wood (Axis Projects)

The shortlist will be announced on 24 October 2017.

The winner will be announced at an afternoon reception at BAFTA, in central London, on Tuesday 28 November 2017.