The annual William Hill Sports Book of the Year British sports literary award is dedicated to rewarding excellence in sports writing.

 Previous winners of the William Hill Sports Book of the year Award:

Year Title Author(s) Sport
2017 Tom Simpson: Bird on the Wire Andy McGrath Rapha Editions
2016 Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life William Finnegan Corsair
2015 The Game of Our Lives: The Meaning and Making of English Football David Goldblatt Viking
2014 Night Games: Sex, Power and Sport Anna Krien Yellow Jersey Press
2013 Doped: The Real Life Story of the 1960s Racehorse Doping Gang Jamie Reid Horse racing
2012 The Secret Race – Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France : Doping, Cover-ups,
and Winning at All Costs
Tyler Hamilton, Daniel Coyle Cycling
2011 A Life Too Short : The Tragedy Of Robert Enke Ronald Reng Football
2010 Beware of the Dog: Rugby's Hard Man Reveals All Brian Moore Rugby football
2009 Harold Larwood: The Authorized Biography of the World’s Fastest Bowler Duncan Hamilton Cricket
2008 Coming Back to Me: The Autobiography of Marcus Trescothick Marcus Trescothick, Peter Hayter Cricket
2007 Provided You Don't Kiss Me: 20 Years With Brian Clough Duncan Hamilton Football
2006 Unforgivable Blackness: The Rise and Fall of Jack Johnson Geoffrey Ward Boxing
2005 My Father & Other Working Class Football Heroes Gary Imlach Football
2004 Basil D'Oliveira: Cricket and Conspiracy: The Untold Story Peter Oborne Cricket
2003 Broken Dreams: Vanity, Greed and the Souring of British Football Tom Bower Football
2002 In Black and White: The Untold Story of Joe Louis and Jesse Owens Donald McRae Athletics, Boxing
2001 Seabiscuit: The True Story of Three Men and a Racehorse Laura Hillenbrand Horse racing
2000 It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life Lance Armstrong, Sally Jenkins Cycling
1999 A Social History of English Cricket Derek Birley Cricket
1998 Angry White Pyjamas: An Oxford Poet Trains with the Tokyo Riot Police Robert Twigger Aikido
1997 A Lot of Hard Yakka: Cricketing Life on the County Circuit Simon Hughes Cricket
1996 Dark Trade: Lost in Boxing Donald McRae Boxing
1995 A Good Walk Spoiled: Days and Nights on the PGA Tour John Feinstein Golf
1994 Football Against the Enemy Simon Kuper Football
1993 Endless Winter: The Inside Story of the Rugby Revolution Stephen Jones Rugby football
1992 Fever Pitch: A Fan's Life Nick Hornby Football
1991 Muhammad Ali: His Life and Times Thomas Hauser Boxing
1990 Rough Ride: An Insight into Pro Cycling Paul Kimmage Cycling
1989 True Blue: The Oxford Boat Race Mutiny Dan Topolski, Patrick Robinson Rowing