Now in its 28th year, the William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award is the world's longest established and most valuable literary sports-writing prize.

UPDATE: Shortlist announced on 18 October 2016

The William Hill Sports Book of the Year award is dedicated to rewarding excellence in sports writing and was first awarded in 1989. This year, 2016, the prize for winning the award is £28,000.

When we start the process of reading for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year, we sometimes only have five or six books entered. It is like the early stages of the racing season, when every horse just might be a Derby winner, according to its owner, trainer and jockey, but as each one appears on a racecourse it has to be judged against the other contenders and either eliminated from, or promoted up, the list of potential champions.

Then we have to worry about making sure every eligible book is entered. One would think that after more than quarter of a century as the richest sports book prize in the world, we’d be at the forefront of every publisher’s mind, with every author desperate to send their work to us. You’d be staggered how hard we have to work sometimes to have a specific book entered.

No matter which way it goes, our ultimate winner will always be an over-achieving, richly deserving sporting champion.

2016 prizes

The winning author will receive £28,000, a free £2,000 bet, a specially commissioned hand-bound copy of the winning title and a day at the races. Shortlisted authors will receive a leather bound copy of their book, £3000 cash and a free £1000 bet.

2016 WHSBOTY calendar

Entries for 2016 are now closed.

The 2017 entry form will be available later in the year. 





Expand all

Close all