Sponsorship Football By Tony Kenny

William Hill become official sponsor of the Football Writers’ Association

William Hill and the Football Writers’ Association are delighted to announce a new three-year title sponsorship.

The FWA and William Hill have been partners since 2013, producing weekly podcasts as part of their tier partnership but now the country’s biggest bookmaker has taken over the title sponsorship of the Association.

New FWA chairman, Patrick Barclay, said: “We’ve enjoyed a great working relationship with William Hill over the last three years and we are delighted they’ve decided to become our new title sponsors for the next three years - and hopefully beyond.

"They will be the major supporter of the Footballer of the Year Dinner, our Tribute Night at The Savoy and we will continue to broadcast a weekly William Hill podcast.

"I am also happy to say they will be backing our highly successful FWA Live events with the first one in Leicester at the end of the month.

“These are exciting times for the FWA. We’ve seen a surge in membership over the last 12 months and we want to build on that. 

“We want to encourage everybody who works in the football journalism industry - commentators, bloggers, not just the traditional writers - no matter their age, gender or ethnicity.

“William Hill share our vision and with their support, I am sure the FWA will continue to make huge strides in improving the lot of football journalists.”

Alex O’Shaughnessy, chief marketing officer for William Hill, said “We’re delighted to become the new official sponsor of the Football Writers’ Association.

“We’ve built a strong working relationship with the FWA over the last few years and it’s great to be increasing our support for the Association.”

Notes to editors

The previous official sponsor of the FWA was Barclays Bank. Barclays were sponsors of the FWA for fifteen years which complimented their title sponsorship of the English Premier League.


The last 10 winners of the FWA Footballer of the year award were;  

2006–07  Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)        

2007–08  Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)

2008–09  Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

2009–10  Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

2010–11  Scott Parker (West Ham United)

2011–12  Robin van Persie (Arsenal)

2012–13  Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)

2013–14  Luis Suárez (Liverpool)

2014–15  Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

2015–16  Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)  


Download IMAGES ZIP file
[Contains three images - Paddy Barclay, the new FWA Chairman, plus Cristiano Ronaldo collecting his FWA Footballer of the Year award from Sir Alex Ferguson. (Credit Action Images)]

About William Hill

Founded in 1934, William Hill is one of the most trusted brands in the marketplace, attracting millions of loyal customers from around the world. Employing more than 16,000 people in nine countries, they continue to transform their business, investing in new technology and innovation, and extending its vast product range to capture substantial growth and opportunities.

In addition to the UK Retail and Australia markets, their online business is headquartered in Gibraltar with its marketing and customer service functions in Israel, Bulgaria and the Philippines. We also have licensed websites in Italy and Spain, and William Hill US operates in the states of Nevada and Delaware.                                                                                                                                          

In a competitive industry and they are constantly innovating to stay ahead, using its scale to promote their brand and to pioneer technology to deliver outstanding customer experiences. Vitally, William Hills understand the critical role they play in encouraging customers to gamble responsibly with the best experience available.