Horse Racing By Jon Ivan-Duke

Next Season's National Hunt Championship

Richard Johnson is fully expected to follow-up and win next season’s National Hunt Jockeys’ Championship, with William Hill making him just 1-8 to land back-to-back titles after claiming his first trophy.


“Richard Johnson has won this year’s Championship so comprehensively that it is difficult to see anyone beating him next season,” said William Hill spokesman Jon Ivan-Duke.


Meanwhile, the duel between Paul Nicholls and Willie Mullins is set to carry on, with Nicholls 4-6 to win next season’s Trainers’ Championship and Willie Mullins at 13-8.


“It has come right down to the wire this season and it could go all the way again next year,” said William Hill spokesman Jon Ivan-Duke.


2016/17 National Hunt Jockeys’ Championship: 1-8 Richard Johnson, 7-1 Sam Twiston-Davies, 14-1 Aidan Coleman, Noel Fehily, 25-1 Harry Skelton, 33-1 Tom Scudamore


2016/17 National Hunt Trainers’ Championship: 4-6 Paul Nicholls, 13-8 Willie Mullins,9-1 Nicky Henderson, 25-1 Dan Skelton, 40-1 Philip Hobbs, 66-1 Colin Tizzard, 100-1David Pipe


(Please note – these markets will be available at the conclusion of today’s racing at Sandown)