Athletics Olympics By Joe Crilly

BBC SPOTY: Murray Favourite But How Have The Odds Changed Since The Olympics?

At the start of this year’s Wimbledon, Andy Murray was 10/1 to win the BBC Sports Personality Of The Year and by the time he lifted the trophy, he was odds on at 10/11 with William Hill, however, after such a fantastic Olympics for Britain’s athletes, the picture is perhaps less clear.

Murray is still the favourite, having drifted to odds against at 11/10 with Mo Farah, who was 7/1 at the start of the Olympics, just 2/1 and cyclists, Laura Trott and Jason Kenny at 9/2 & 10/1 respectively. The pair were 25/1 and 50/1 to win SPOTY on the day of the Olympics opening ceremony.

“Despite there being a fair bit of sport left this year, it is hard to see a non-Olympian winning SPOTY and unsurprisingly the odds on all our Olympic heroes have tumbled over the course of the last three weeks,” said William Hill spokesman Joe Crilly.

In the last 14 days, Laura Trott has attracted the biggest Sports Personality of the Year bet of £500 e/w at 6/1 and 22% of all bets on the market since the start of the Olympics have been for her.

In the Team of the Year betting, Leicester head the way by quite some distance at 1/5 following their 5000/1 antics last season, with GB Olympic cycling team 7/1 and the women’s hockey team 8/1.

“The GB ladies’ hockey team were a highlight for many in Rio and they look the value bet at this stage,” said William Hill spokesman Joe Crilly.


BBC Sports Personality of the Year: 11/10 Andy Murray; 2/1 Mo Farah; 9/2 Laura Trott; 10/1 Jason Kenny; 14/1 Max Whitlock; 20/1 Gareth Bale; 25/1 Nick Skelton; 40/1 Anthony Joshua; 40/1 Chris Froome; 50/1 BAR

Sports Personality team of the Year: 1/5 Leicester City; 7/1 GB Olympic cycling team; 8/1 GB Olympic women’s hockey team; 14/1 Wales Euro 2016 team; 20/1 England rugby union team; 25/1 Ryder Cup team; 33/1 GB Paralympic team; 50/1 BAR

Pre-Olympic SPOTY odds: 10/11 Andy Murray; 7/1 Mo Farah; 8/1 Anthony Joshua; 10/1 Jess Ennis Hill; 11/1 Gareth Bale; 16/1 Katarina Johnson Thompson; 25/1 Laura Trott; 50/1 Jason Kenny; 50/1 Max Whitlock; 66/1 Greg Rutherford; 100/1 Nick Skelton; 100/1 Tom Daley