Australia Sports Book Of The Year By Tim Ashworth

William Hill Launch $20,000 Australian Sports Book of the Year Prize

William Hill is pleased to announce the creation of the William Hill Australian Sports Book of the Year, providing a $20,000 prize to the author as judged by a respected panel of authors and writers.

Since 1989, William Hill in the United Kingdom have awarded the Sports Book of the Year and in the 26 years since, winners like Nick Hornby, John Feinstein and Marcus Trescothick have helped make it one of the most respected sports literary awards in the world.

Australian author Anna Krien became only the second woman to win the richest and most prestigious literary sports writing prize in the world last year, for her outstanding book 'Night Games.

Off the back of Anna’s success, the decision was made by William Hill Australia to recognise and reward Australian authors on an annual basis for consistently producing thought provoking and insightful books for the public year-upon-year.

The winning author will receive a prize of $20,000 with the remaining short-listed authors receiving a prize of $1,000.

Winner of the 2005 award Gary Imlach said "although it is a sports book prize, it has the prestige and the commercial clout to lift the winning book out of the sport section".

The 2015 judging panel includes luminaries of Australian sport and writing such as Walkley Award winner Jacquelin Magnay, former sports editor of The Age Charlie Happell, international Rugby League player and host of NRL360 Ben Ikin, AFL 360 host and author of Black Caviar Gerard Whateley and legendary cricket writer for the Courier Mail Robert 'Crash' Craddock.

Nominations close on September 11 with a long list of 12 to be announced on September 2. The short list of five books will be revealed on October 13 with the winner announced at an awards ceremony on December 3.

For more information on the inaugural William Hill Australian Sports Book of the Year, or to download an application form, please go to