Cycling By Jon Ivan-Duke

Quintana Worst Result for Bookies

Nairo Quintana is the worst result for Britain’s biggest bookmaker in this year’s Tour De France. The 11-5 second-favourite, who is only behind 2-1 market leader Chris Froome in the outright betting, has been strongly supported.


The Colombian rider skipped last year’s Tour after a brilliant performance in 2013, when he finished second overall.


“The cash is on Nairo Quintana and he stands to be the worst result in the Tour De France,” said William Hill spokesman Jon Ivan-Duke.


However, Hills have taken more individual bets on Chris Froome. It means that Quintana has attracted higher average stakes.


But the biggest bet is on Froome, with one online customer holding a £2400 ticket that could net over 7k.


The British interest doesn’t end with Froome – ahead of the opening stage, Alex Dowsett is the worst result for William Hill. He’s 20-1 to land Stage 1.


“Alex Dowsett has been backed to get his Tour off to a flyer in the opening stage,” said Hills spokesman Jon Ivan-Duke.


Tour De France Winner: 2-1 Chris Froome, 11-5 Nairo Quintana, 4-1 Alberto Contador, 9-2 Vincenzo Nibali, 25-1 Thibaut Pinot, 28-1 Tejay Van Garderen, 33-1 Joaquim Rodriguez, 44-1 Alejandro Valverde, 55-1 Romain Bardet, 66-1 Rafal Majka, 66-1 Richie Porte, 80-1 OR BIGGER THE REST (Each way ¼ Odds Places 1,2,3)


Winner Without the ‘Big Four’ (Froome, Quintana, Contador, Nibali): 5-2 Thibaut Pinot, 4-1 Joaquim Rodriguez, 4-1 Tejay Van Garderen, 6-1 Alejandro Valverde, 8-1 Romain Bardet, 10-1 Rafal Majka, 10-1 Richie Porte, 15-1 Jakob Fuglsang, 20-1 Andrew Talansky, 28-1 Bauke Mollema, 28-1 Jean Christophe Peraud, 30-1 Leopold Konig, 30-1 Rui Costa, 30-1 Wilco Kelderman, 33-1 Roman Kreuziger, 36-1 Geraint Thomas, 40-1 Daniel Martin, 40-1 Pierre Rolland, 40-1 Rigoberto Uran, 40-1 Warren Barguil, 50-1 Michal Kwiatkowski, 50-1 Robert Gesink, 50-1 Ryder Hesjedal, 66-1 Mathias Rank, 66-1 Simon Yates, 100-1 Laurens Ten Dam


Stage 1 Winner: 5-6 Tony Martin, 3-1 Tom Dumoulin, 9-1 Fabian Cancellara, 12-1 Adriano Malori, 20-1 Alex Dowsett, 20-1 Michal Kwiatkowski, 22-1 Rohan Dennis, 28-1 Matthias Brandle, 33-1 Geraint Thomas, 33-1 Peter Sagan, 44-1 Chris Froome, 66-1 Jan Barta, 66-1 Jonathan Castroviejo, 66-1 Tejay Van Garderen, 66-1 Wilco Kelderman, 80-1 OR BIGGER THE REST (EW 1/3 Odds Places 1,2)

[Picture by: Laurent Cipriani/AP/Press Association Images]