The climax of the entire Jump racing season is the Cheltenham Gold Cup and the race has thrown up some of the most famous National Hunt racehorses in history.

The most successful horse in Gold Cup history is Golden Miller who won the race five times during the 1930's. In modern times Arkle won the race three times in a row in the sixties and the Henrietta Knight trained Best Mate won the race three consecutive times from 2002.

Winners of The Cheltenham Gold Cup over the last 30 years


Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2018 Native River 8 R Johnson C Tizzard
2017 Sizing John 7 R Power J Harrington
2016 Don Cossack 9 B Cooper G Elliott
2015 Coneygree 8 N de Boinville M Bradstock
2014 Lord Windermere 8 D Russell J Culloty
2013 Bobs Worth 8 B Geraghty N Henderson
2012 Synchronised 8 A McCoy J O'Neill
2011 Long Run 6 S Waley-Cohen N Henderson
2010 Imperial Commander 9 P Brennan N Twiston-Davies
2009 Kauto Star 9 R Walsh P Nicholls
2008 Denman 8 S Thomas P Nicholls
2007 Kauto Star 7 R Walsh P Nicholls
2006 War Of Attrition 7 C O'Dwyer M Morris
2005 Kicking King 7 B Geraghty T Taaffe
2004 Best Mate 9 J Culloty H Knight
2003 Best Mate 8 J Culloty H Knight
2002 Best Mate 7 J Culloty H Knight
2001 NO RACE      
2000 Looks Like Trouble 8 R Johnson N Chance
1999 See More Business 9 M Fitzgerald P Nicholls
1998 Cool Dawn 10 A Thornton R Alner
1997 Mr Mulligan 9 A McCoy N Chance
1996 Imperial Call 7 C O'Dwyer F Sutherland
1995 Master Oats 9 N Williamson K Bailey
1994 The Fellow 9 A Kondrat F Doumen
1993 Jodami 8 M Dwyer P Beaumont
1992 Cool Ground 10 A Maguire T Balding
1991 Garrison Savannah 8 M Pitman J Pitman
1990 Norton's Coin 9 G McCourt S Griffiths
1989 Desert Orchid 10 S Sherwood D Elsworth
1988 Charter Party 10 R Dunwoody D Nicholson
1987 The Thinker 9 Ridley Lamb A Stephenson
1986 Dawn Run 8 Jonjo O'Neill P Mullins


Desert Orchid, ridden by Simon Sherwood in the Cheltenham Gold Cup (Rex)


View the latest Gold Cup odds